Athletics Department

The offices of the Athletics Department are located on the second floor of the DeVos Fieldhouse, 222 Fairbanks Avenue. Please enter from the west (clock tower) side of the building.

General Number -- 616-395-7070
Athletics Fax -- 616-395-7175
Ticket Office -- 616-395-7890
Information For Visiting Teams 

STAFF DIRECTORY

2017-2018 Athletics Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Melinda Larson
Co-Athletic Director
616-395-7694 larson@hope.edu
Tim Schoonveld
Co-Athletic Director
616-395-7698 schoonveld@hope.edu
Caroline Dykstra
Assistant Athletic Director
616-395-7081 dykstrac@hope.edu
Kirk Brumels
Chairman of Department of Kinesiology
616-395-7356 brumels@hope.edu
Lindsey Engelsman
Office Manager, Athletics Brand Manager
616-395-7688 engelsman@hope.edu
Jamie DeWitt
Athletics Assistant
616-395-7349 dewitt@hope.edu
Gordon VanderYacht
Equipment Manager
616-395-7917 vanderyacht@hope.edu
Mike Howes
Event & Ticket Manager
616-395-7011 howes@hope.edu
Alan Babbitt
Sports Information Director
616-395-7856 babbitt@hope.edu


Athletic Training

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim Koberna
Head Athletic Trainer
616-395-7705 koberna@hope.edu
Tonia Gruppen
Assistant Professor of Kinesiology & Athletic Trainer
616-395-7455 gruppen@hope.edu
Anthony Richards
Assistant Athletic Trainer
616-395-7070 richards@hope.edu
Kirk Brumels
Chairman of Department of Kinesiology, Professor & Athletic Trainer
616-395-7356 brumels@hope.edu


Strength & Conditioning

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dan Margritz
Strength & Conditioning Coach, Assistant Football Coach
616-395-7255 margritz@hope.edu


Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Stu Fritz
Head Coach
616-395-7692 fritz@hope.edu
Chad Ruby
Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 ruby@hope.edu
Dane Wysocki
Pitching coach
616-395-7070 wysocki@hope.edu
Jon Edmondson
Assistant coach
616-395-7070


Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Greg Mitchell
Head Coach
616-395-7699 mitchell@hope.edu
Jeff Carlson
Assistant coach
616-395-7070 carlson@hope.edu
Tom Davelaar
Assistant coach
616-395-7070 davelaar@hope.edu
Mike Aldrich
Assistant coach
517-881-8005 michael.aldrich@hope.edu
Craig Kopas
Assistant coach
616-403-6646 kopas@hope.edu
Chad Carlson
Junior varsity coach
616-395-7070 ccarlson@hope.edu


Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Brian Morehouse
Head Coach, Dow Center Director
616-395-7853 morehouse@hope.edu
Courtney Kust
Assistant Coach
616-395-7222 kust@hope.edu
Colly Carlson
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 carlsonc@hope.edu
Dean Morehouse
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 morehoused@hope.edu
Bill Kelp
Assistant Coach
Kristen Slotman
Junior Varsity Coach
616-395-7070


Men's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mark Northuis
Head Men's & Women's Cross Country Coach, Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Brian VanZanten
Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 vanzanten@hope.edu
Patrick Weisgerber
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 weisgerber@hope.edu
Phil Jones
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mark Northuis
Head Men's & Women's Cross Country Coach; Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Brian VanZanten
Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 vanzanten@hope.edu
Patrick Weisgerber
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 weisgerber@hope.edu
Phil Jones
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Peter Stuursma
Head Football Coach
616-395-7288 stuursma@hope.edu
Michael Ricketts
Defensive Coordinator
616-395-7683 ricketts@hope.edu
Andrew Hawken
Offensive Coordinator
616-395-7392 hawken@hope.edu
Dan Margritz
Linebackers, Strength & Conditioning Coach
616-395-7255 margritz@hope.edu
Jim Caserta
Quarterbacks Coach
616-395-7070 jcaserta@hollandchristian.org
Jason Duram
Defensive Line Coach
616-395-7070 duram@hope.edu
Dave Gkekas
Cornerbacks Coach
616-460-0560 gkekas@hope.edu
Shawn Jackson
Running Backs Coach
616-395-7070 jacksons@hope.edu
Michael Lapciuk
Receivers, Special Teams Coach
616-395-7070 coachl@hope.edu
Tony Semple
Offensive Line Coach
616-395-7070 semple@hope.edu
Michael Stephan
Assistant Offensive Line Coach
616-395-7070 michael.stephan@hope.edu


Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Lokers
Head Men's Golf Coach
616-886-2197 lokers@hope.edu


Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Greg Stafford
Head Women's Golf Coach
616-395-7070 stafford@hope.edu
Melody Oonk
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Men's Lacrosse

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Michael Schanhals
Head Men's Lacrosse Coach
616-395-7070 schanhals@hope.edu
Bruce Elder
Assistant coach
616-395-7070
Chris Scheldt
Assistant coach
616-395-7070


Women's Lacrosse

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kim Vincent
Head Women's Lacrosse Coach
616-395-7070 vincentk@hope.edu


Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
National Search For Head Coach Is Underway
Head Men's Soccer Coach
Lee Schopp
Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 schopp@hope.edu
David Hertel
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 herteld@hope.edu
Brent Wyckoff
Assistant coach
616-395-7070 wyckoffb@hope.edu


Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Leigh Sears
Head Women's Soccer Coach, Associate Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7693 sears@hope.edu
Elliot Slenk
Assistant Coach
slenk@hope.edu
Kate Thayer
Assistant Coach — Goalkeepers
616-395-7070


Men's Swimming & Diving

Name Title Phone E-Mail
John Patnott
Head Men's & Women's Swimming & Diving Coach
616-395-7697 patnott@hope.edu
Nathan Brown
Assistant Coach
brownn@hope.edu
Rebecca Mumby
Diving Coach
mumby@hope.edu


Women's Swimming & Diving

Name Title Phone E-Mail
John Patnott
Head Men's & Women's Swimming & Diving Coach
616-395-7697 patnott@hope.edu
Nathan Brown
Assistant Coach
brownn@hope.edu
Rebecca Mumby
Diving Coach
mumby@hope.edu


Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mary VandeHoef
Head Softball Coach, Intramural Director, Dow Center Assistant Director
616-395-7956 vandehoef@hope.edu
Jeanette Olinger
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 olinger@hope.edu
Laura Tjepkema
Assistant Coach
Lisa Schoonveld
Assistant Coach


Men's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bob Cawood
Head Coach
616-395-4965 cawood@hope.edu
Matt Hamilton
Assistant Coach
hamilton@hope.edu


Men's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kevin Cole
Head Track & Field Coach, Associate Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7138 cole@hope.edu
Mark Northuis
Assistant Coach — Distance, middle distance
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Paul Markel
Assistant coach — Throws
616-395-7070 markel@hope.edu
Jon Lunderberg
Assistant coach — Pole vault
616-395-7070 lunderbergj@hope.edu
Kara Winton
Assistant coach
616-395-7070
Patrick Weisgerber
Assistant Coach - Steeplechase
616-395-7070 weisgerber@hope.edu


Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bob Cawood
Head Coach
616-395-4965 cawood@hope.edu
Matt Hamilton
Assistant Coach


Women's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kevin Cole
Head Track & Field Coach
616-395-7138 cole@hope.edu
Mark Northuis
Assistant Coach — Distance, middle distance
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Paul Markel
Assistant coach — Throws
616-395-7070 markel@hope.edu
Jon Lunderberg
Assistant Coach — Pole vault
616-395-7070 lunderbergj@hope.edu
Kara Winton
Assistant coach
616-395-7070
Patrick Weisgerber
Assistant Coach - Steeplechase
616-395-7070 weisgerber@hope.edu


Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Becky Schmidt
Head Volleyball Coach; Assistant Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7682 schmidt@hope.edu
Jean Kegerreis
Assistant coach
616-395-7070
Tom Doherty
Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Cheerleading

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kiley Kaye
Head Cheerleading Coach
616-395-7070 kaye@hope.edu


Men's Ice Hockey

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Van Timmeren
Head Coach
616-292-7787 vantimmeren@hope.edu


Hope.edu | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422