Athletics Department

The offices of the Athletics Department are located on the second floor of the DeVos Fieldhouse, 222 Fairbanks Avenue. Please enter from the west (clock tower) side of the building.

General Number -- 616-395-7070
Athletics Fax -- 616-395-7175
Ticket Office -- 616-395-7890
Information For Visiting Teams 

STAFF DIRECTORY

2016-2017 Athletics Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Melinda Larson Co-Athletic Director
616-395-7694 larson@hope.edu
Tim Schoonveld Co-Athletic Director
616-395-7698 schoonveld@hope.edu
Caroline Hannema Assistant Athletic Director
616-395-7081 hannema@hope.edu
Kirk Brumels Chairman of Department of Kinesiology
616-395-7356 brumels@hope.edu
Lindsey Engelsman Office Manager, Athletics Brand Manager
616-395-7688 engelsman@hope.edu
Jamie DeWitt Athletics Assistant
616-395-7349 dewitt@hope.edu
Gordon VanderYacht Equipment Manager
616-395-7917 vanderyacht@hope.edu
Mike Howes Event & Ticket Manager
616-395-7011 howes@hope.edu
Alan Babbitt Sports Information Director
616-395-7856 babbitt@hope.edu


Athletic Training

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim Koberna Head Athletic Trainer
616-395-7705 koberna@hope.edu
Meg Frens Athletic Training Program Director
616-395-7450 frens@hope.edu
Tonia Gruppen Assistant Athletic Trainer
616-395-7455 gruppen@hope.edu
Kirk Brumels Athletic Trainer, Chairman of Department of Kinesiology
616-395-7356 brumels@hope.edu


Strength & Conditioning

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dan Margritz Strength & Conditioning Coach, Assistant Football Coach
616-395-7070 margritz@hope.edu


Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Stu Fritz Head Coach
616-395-7692 fritz@hope.edu
Chad Ruby Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 ruby@hope.edu
Dane Wysocki Pitching coach
616-395-7070
Jon Edmondson Assistant coach
616-395-7070


Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Greg Mitchell Head Coach
616-395-7699 mitchell@hope.edu
Jeff Carlson Assistant coach
616-395-7070 carlson@hope.edu
Tom Davelaar Assistant coach
616-395-7070 davelaar@hope.edu
Mike Aldrich Assistant coach
517-881-8005 michael.aldrich@hope.edu
Craig Kopas Assistant coach
616-403-6646 kopas@hope.edu
Chad Carlson Junior varsity coach
616-395-7070 ccarlson@hope.edu


Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Brian Morehouse Head Coach, Dow Center Director
616-395-7853 morehouse@hope.edu
Courtney Kust Assistant coach
616-395-7370 kust@hope.edu
Colly Carlson Assistant coach
616-395-7070 carlsonc@hope.edu
Dean Morehouse Assistant coach
616-395-7070 morehoused@hope.edu
Kristen Slotman Junior varsity coach
616-395-7070


Men's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mark Northuis Head Men's & Women's Cross Country Coach, Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Patrick Weisgerber Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 weisgerber@hope.edu
Brian VanZanten Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 vanzanten@hope.edu


Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mark Northuis Head Men's & Women's Cross Country Coach; Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Brian VanZanten Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 vanzanten@hope.edu
Patrick Weisgerber Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 weisgerber@hope.edu


Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Peter Stuursma Head Football Coach
616-395-7288 stuursma@hope.edu
Michael Ricketts Defensive Coordinator
616-395-7683 ricketts@hope.edu
Irv Sigler Offensive Coordinator
616-395-7070 sigler@hope.edu
Dan Margritz Linebackers, Strength & Conditioning Coach
616-395-7070 margritz@hope.edu
Jason Duram Defensive Line Coach
616-395-7070 duram@hope.edu
Dave Gkekas Cornerbacks Coach
616-460-0560 gkekas@hope.edu
Shawn Jackson Running Backs Coach
616-395-7070 jacksons@hope.edu
Michael Lapciuk Receivers, Special Teams
616-395-7070 coachl@hope.edu
Chad Sampo Quarterbacks Coach
616-395-7070 sampo@hope.edu
Tony Semple Offensive Line Coach
616-395-7070 semple@hope.edu
Ryan Reason Assistant Offensive Line Coach
616-395-7070 ryan.reason@hope.edu


Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bob Ebels Head Men's Golf Coach
616-836-2480 ebelsr@hope.edu


Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Greg Stafford Head Women's Golf Coach
616-395-7070 stafford@hope.edu
Melody Oonk Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Men's Lacrosse

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Michael Schanhals Head Men's Lacrosse Coach
616-395-7070 schanhals@hope.edu
Bruce Elder Assistant coach
Chris Scheldt Assistant coach


Women's Lacrosse

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kim Vincent Head Women's Lacrosse Coach
616-395-7070 vincentk@hope.edu
Lori Zimmerman Assistant coach
616-506-1012 zimmermanl@hope.edu


Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Steven Smith Head Men's Soccer Coach, Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7569 sdsmith@hope.edu
Lee Schopp Associate Head Coach
616-395-7070 schopp@hope.edu
David Hertel Assistant Coach
616-395-7070 hertel@hope.edu
Brent Wyckoff Assistant coach
616-395-7070 wyckoffb@hope.edu


Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Leigh Sears Head Women's Soccer Coach, Associate Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7693 sears@hope.edu
Elliot Slenk Assistant coach
slenk@hope.edu
Kate Thayer Assistant coach — goalkeepers


Men's Swimming & Diving

Name Title Phone E-Mail
John Patnott Head Men's & Women's Swimming & Diving Coach
616-395-7697 patnott@hope.edu
Zack Golin Diving coach
616-395-7070 golin@hope.edu
Austin Veltman Assistant coach
616-395-7070 veltmana@hope.edu
Hannah Deak Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Women's Swimming & Diving

Name Title Phone E-Mail
John Patnott Head Men's & Women's Swimming & Diving Coach
616-395-7697 patnott@hope.edu
Zack Golin Diving coach
616-395-7070 golin@hope.edu
Austin Veltman Assistant coach
616-395-7070 veltmana@hope.edu
Hannah Deak Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mary VandeHoef Head Softball Coach, Intramural Director, Dow Center Assistant Director
616-395-7956 vandehoef@hope.edu
Jeanette Olinger Assistant coach
616-395-7070
Kelli Duimstra Assistant Coach
Ellen Radandt Assistant Coach


Men's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nate Price Interim Men's, Women's Tennis Coach
616-395-4965 price@hope.edu


Men's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kevin Cole Head Track & Field Coach, Associate Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7138 cole@hope.edu
Mark Northuis Assistant coach — Distance, middle distance
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Paul Markel Assistant coach — Throws
616-395-7070 markel@hope.edu
Jon Lunderberg Assistant coach — Pole vault
616-395-7070 lunderbergj@hope.edu


Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nate Price Interim Women's, Men's Tennis Coach
616-395-4965 price@hope.edu


Women's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kevin Cole Head Track & Field Coach
616-395-7138 cole@hope.edu
Mark Northuis Assistant coach — Distance, middle distance
616-395-7689 northuis@hope.edu
Paul Markel Assistant coach — Throws
616-395-7070 markel@hope.edu
Jon Lunderberg Assistant coach — Pole vault
616-395-7070 lunderbergj@hope.edu


Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Becky Schmidt Head Volleyball Coach; Assistant Professor of Kinesiology
616-395-7682 schmidt@hope.edu
Jean Kegerreis Assistant coach
616-395-7070
Tom Doherty Assistant Coach
616-395-7070


Cheerleading

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kiley Kaye Head Cheerleading Coach
616-395-7070 kaye@hope.edu


Men's Ice Hockey

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Van Timmeren Head Coach
616-292-7787 vantimmeren@hope.edu


Hope.edu | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422