Forty-two Hope College Student-Athletes Claim All-MIAA Honors This Fall

by Alan Babbitt

Forty-two Hope College student-athletes received All-Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association honors during the 2019 fall season.

Their efforts helped Hope claim two MIAA regular-season championships, four NCAA Championship berths, and first place in the MIAA Commissioner's Cup all-sports standings after the fall season.

In football, the MIAA champion Flying Dutchmen totaled 14 All-MIAA honorees, including nine first teams, the league MVP on offense in senior quarterback Mason Opple of Hudsonville, Michigan (Hudsonville HS) and the league MVP on defense in senior linebacker Mason Dekker of Holland, Michigan (West Ottawa). 

Other first-team selections were: senior defensive tackle Jake Babb of Caledonia, Michigan (Caledonia), senior safety Luke Beckhusen of Coldwater, Michigan (Coldwater), senior wide receiver Christian Bos of Hudsonville, Michigan (Unity Christian), senior punter Austin Heeres ofWyoming, Michigan (Grandville Calvin Christian), sophomore running back Kenyea Houston of from Chicago, Illinois (Westinghouse), senior left tackle Timothy Ivery of Bloomfield Hills, Michigan (Brother Rice), and senior center Zach Smith of Suttons Bay, Michigan (Suttons Bay).

Five Flying Dutchmen made the All-MIAA second team: senior wide eceiver Cooper Cecchini of Hudsonville, Michigan (Hudsonville), senior left guard Noah de Velder of Grand Rapids, Michigan (East Grand Rapids), junior right tackle Brady Eding of Hamilton, Michigan (Hamilton), junior running back Connor Mellon of Adrian, Michigan (Madison), and sophomore linebacker Jeremiah Purnell of Wyoming, Michigan (Wyoming).

In women's cross country, the MIAA champion Flying Dutch finished with six all-league honorees, including four first-team selections: freshman Ana Tucker of Midland, Michigan (H.H. Dow), senior Anna Frazee of Watervliet, Michigan (Home School), senior Chelsea Miskelley of Holland, Michigan (Black River) and junior Jacinda Cole of Holland, Michigan (West Ottawa).

The second-team selections were: senior Rebecca Duran of Palatine, Illinois (Palatine) and senior Kelly Peregrine of Traverse City, Michigan (T.C. Central).

In men's cross country, sophomore Nick Hoffman of Holland, Michigan (Holland) claimed All-MIAA Second Team honors.

In men's soccer, seven Flying Dutchmen claimed All-MIAA honors, including three first teamers: senior midfielder Isaac Braak of Grand Haven, Michigan (Grand Haven), sophomore midfielder Ryan Flynn of Bloomington, Illinois (Bloomington) and senior defender Jordan Hooker of Grand Rapids, Michigan (East Grand Rapids).

Also, forward Alec Belcastro was chosen as the MIAA Newcomer of the Year. He was among four second-team honorees along with senior forward Logan Bylsma of Hudsonville, Michigan (Hudsonville), junior midfielder Ty Dalton of Rockford, Michigan (Rockford) and sophomore defender Brett Dyer of Northport, Michigan (Northport).

In women's soccer, four Flying Dutch were honored, including two first-team selections: senior midfielder Megan Bigelow of Flushing, Michigan (Flushing HS) and junior midfielder Maria Egloff of Kalamazoo, Michigan (Loy Norrix).

Two more claimed All-MIAA Second Team recognition: junior Corinne Cole of St. Paul, Minnesota (Eastview) and freshman Erin Powers of Norton Shores, Michigan (Mona Shores).

In volleyball, sophomore middle hitter McKenna Otto of Wheaton, Illinois (Wheaton North) and sophomore outside hitter Ana Grunewald of Grand Rapids, Michigan (East Grand Rapids) received All-MIAA First Team honors.

Two were chosen as All-MIAA Second Team honorees: senior libero Gabbi Vachon of Grand Rapids, MIchigan (Jenison) and sophomore setter Tracy Westra of Clarendon Hills, Illinois (Timothy Christian).

In men's golf, freshman Jack Crawford of Carmel, Indiana (Carmel) earned All-MIAA First Team honors.

Two Flying Dutchmen were second-team selections: senior Daniel Settecerri Bloomfield Hills, Michigan (Bloomfield Hills) and freshman Drew Dykens of Holland, Michigan (West Ottawa). 

In women's golf, juniors Jordyn Rioux of Farmington, Michigan (Livonia Ladywood) and Abigail Meder of Lansing, Michigan (Lansing Catholic Central) and Megan Jenkinson of Traverse City, Michigan (TC West HS) received All-MIAA Second Team honors. | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422