Hope College Rugby

2016 team, from left, front row, Trevor Hile, Ryan Cole, Jack Wolff, Justice Burley, Jorge Benitez, Bergeron, Ben Stryker, Eric Rosendahl; middle, Jose Salazar, Joe Bustamante, Mitch Van Acker, Isiah Kyles, Lee Keinath, Geoff Stagg, Cody Berkobien, Matt Gritt, Danny Lopez, Spencer Morgan; back, coach Patrick Monahan, Maxwell Nipke, Braden Carl, Seth Held, Gene Ryan, Dylan Wyckoff, Zach Hamilton, Nick Olen, Michael Girman, Andrew Niedbala, Shafer Graham.



16 - Grand Valley State 41, Hope 0

24 - Oakland 100, Hope 3


1 - Saginaw Valley State 26, Hope 12

22 - Ferris State 64, Hope 14

28 - lost to Calvin


President: Jorge Benitez | Vice-President: Cody Berkobien
Co-Secretaries: Eugene Ryan | Treasurer: Jack Wolff 
E-mail: rugby@hope.edu


Patrick Monahan is entering his fourth season as the Hope College rugby club coach in 2016 Monahan has been involved in the sport since joining the University of Notre Dame men’s rugby club in 1987. His involvement in club rugby at Notre Dame included serving as match secretary and club president. Monahan’s post-collegiate career continued with the Seattle Rugby Club where he played until moving to the Holland area in 1995.

In 2008, Monahan joined Sean McTaggart in coaching a high school rugby team from West Ottawa High School in Holland. The team has had a great deal of success, winning Division 1 state titles in 2009 and 2012 and finishing second in 2011. West Ottawa won state titles in Division 3 (2008) and Division 2 (2010) for a total of four state championships and one second place finish over six years. West Ottawa also competed in the 2012 Midwest championship tournament placing fifth and achieving  a top 25 ranking nationally. Hope is now a member of the National Small College Rugby Organization LLC (NSCRO).

Monahan is assisted by Shafer Graham.



18 — Hope 24, Grand Valley State University B 7

26 — Hope 37, Hillsdale 12


10 — Hope 50, Oakland University 7

17 — Hope 40, Western Michigan University B 23

30 — Calvin 21, Hope 14. Photo Gallery By Student Photographer Joy Rhine


7 — Midwest DIII Challenge Cup, John Carroll Ohio 55, Hope 24 

2015 Hope rugby team, from left, front, Kyle Magnuson, Andrew Niedbala, Bryce Richards, Justice Burley, Jack Wolff, Jorge Benitez, Benjamin Stryker, Andrew Mitchell, Devin Dumont; back, head coach Patrick Monahan, Lee Keinath, Cody Berkobien, Eugene Ryan, Seth Held, Dylan Wyckoff, Maxwell Nipke, Tyler Olesh, Patrick Wolf, Mitch Larsen, assistant coach Shafer Graham