Men's Lacrosse Picked To Repeat As MIAA Champions

Rocco Muloroni on the attack by Alan Babbitt

The Hope College men's lacrosse team is chosen to repeat as Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association champions in the 2019 season.

The Flying Dutchmen topped the MIAA preseason coaches poll with eight points and six first-place votes. Coaches could not vote for their own teams.

Hope, the 2018 regular-season champion, finished four points ahead of runner-up Albion College, the 2019 MIAA Tournament champion.

Photo of Rocco Mularoni by Lynne Powe

The Flying Dutchmen are coming off the most successful season in their varsity history.

Under the direction of head coach Michael Schanhals, Hope captured its first MIAA championship en route to a 15-2 overall record. The Flying Dutchmen set a school record for wins in a season and longest win streak 15 games.

Senior goalie Nick Schanhals of North Muskegon, Michigan (North Muskegon HS) is back after leading all NCAA Division III players with a 6.10 goals against average.

Sophomore forward Rocco Mularoni received honorable-mention all-region honors from the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association. He recorded 53 goals — the second-most in team history. He was also named the MIAA's Offensive MVP.

Ten of the Flying Dutchmen's 11 All-MIAA selections return.

Hope's first match is Saturday, February 23 at Elmhurst College (Illinois.)