Men's Lacrosse Senior Gareth Ulmer a Finalist for Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award

Gareth Ulmer looks up field on a passing attempt. Gareth Ulmer poses for a headshot by Alan Babbitt

Hope College lacrosse player Gareth Ulmer has been selected as a finalist for the 2020 One Love Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award.

The senior from Delaware, Ohio (Rutherford B. Hayes HS) is Hope's second finalist. John Hunger '18 was chosen as the NCAA Division III recipient in 2018.

One Love was established to honor Yeardley Love, a University of Virginia lacrosse player, after her death in 2010, with the mission to change the statistics around relationship abuse by giving every young person a foundational understanding of the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships.

The Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award recognizes the accomplishments of six student-athletes who help their teams achieve success in ways that may not be measured in goals, saves or ground balls. The honor places value on kindness and generosity, characteristics that are often undervalued in the competitively charged environment of college lacrosse.

Six recipients will be chosen, including at least one from each NCAA division.

Head coach Michael Schanhals is thrilled to see Ulmer chosen as a finalist.

"I'm tremendously proud of the man Gareth has become, how mature he is. He's been an excellent leader for us," Schanhals said. "Yeardley Love and One Love is really important to us. It's something special he has an opportunity like this."

Ulmer is one of 26 finalists from all three NCAA divisions and one of 10 from Division III.


Men's Division III

Spencer Kriss '22 - Washington & Lee University

Harrison Ramsey '20 - Kalamazoo College

Sean Smith '20 - Connecticut College

Gareth Ulmer '20 - Hope College

Zach Zavalick '20 - Wesleyan University

Women's Division III

Katie Clark '20 - Rhodes College

Marietta Davis '21 - United States Coast Guard Academy

Maria Krieg '22 - Haverford College

Mekayla Montgomery '20 - Hobart & William Smith College

Chiamata Umani '22 - Colby College

Men's Division II

Stephen Hogan '20 - Chestnut Hill College

Collin McClelland '20 - Lynn University

Corey McAndrew '20 - Frostburg State University

Women's Division II

Abby Hammond '21 - Florida Southern College

Casey Shimborske '21- Mercy College

Courtney Wolf '23 - Holy Family University

Men's Division I

Jackson Appelt '21 - University of Virginia

Robbie Garavente '20 -  Lafayette College

Peter Hollen '20 - University of Michigan

Peter Jones '20 - Fairfield University

Thomas Stevens '20 - University of Pennsylvania

Women's Division I

Ryan Bauer '20 - Old Dominion University

Maddie Clark '20 - University of Oregon

Samantha DeBillis '20 - Duke University

Halle Duenkel '20 - James Madison University

Lauren Martin '20 - University of Virginia | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422