Hope College Men's Soccer Historic Moments

Updated thru 2017 season

Men's soccer made its Hope debut in 1963. Over the past five decades the program has grown in stature among NCAA Division III programs, winning in recent years at a 75% clip. 

Pictured at right, The Game Winner - NCAA 2011 Regional Finals. Hope 2, Dominican 1 on Corner Kick in Closing Seconds
Photo courtesy Patti Groetsema

Hope and rival Calvin were co-champions in the MIAA's first season (1970). Forty years later (2010), the teams were again MIAA co-champions. The two rivals have been MIAA co-champions three times (1970-2003-2010).

The Flying Dutchmen won the MIAA championship five times between 2002 and 2013. Hope's league record during that span is an outstanding 125-29-10.

In 2011 Logan Neil became the fourth Hope player to receive the MIAA's most valuable player award in back-to-back years. In 2007 Dan Tresslar became the third Hope player to receive the MIAA's most valuable player award in back-to-back years. He joined Dan Tresslar (2006 and 2007), Kevin Behman (1984 & 1985) and Glenn Swier (1974 & 1975). Hope's All-time MIAA MVPs.

Coach Steven Smith is among the winningest active Division III coaches. Averaging 14 victories a season, coach Smith ranked 18th nationally among all active NCAA Division III coaches by winning percentage entering the 2013 season. He also ranked in the top twenty among the winningest all-time Division III coaches by percentage (19th). MIAA history was made when his teams strung together three consecutive MIAA championship seasons (1994-1996). Smith has guided the Flying Dutchmen to nine conference championships since becoming head coach in 1990.
Hope has been blessed with an abundance of All-America goalkeepers, beginning with Lee Schopp '93 as a junior and senior. Aaron Angeli '96 was honored his senior year and Marcus Voss '03 as both a junior and senior. Yet another goalkeeper, Al Crothers '84, was a four-time All-MIAA honoree. Hope All-Time All-Americans
Outstanding among Hope's appearances in the NCAA Division III playoffs was the 1994 team which advanced to the quarterfinals before being eliminated in a shootout. That MIAA championship team allowed only 11 goals in 21 games. The 2002 league champions held three NCAA opponents without a goal.
The Flying Dutchmen made their debut in the state-of-the-art Van Andel Soccer Stadium during the 2009 season. The Flying Dutchmen posted a 5-1-1 record in their inaugural season. In six of those games, four ended in a 1-0 score (3-1), one at 1-1 and the other a 6-0 Hope win. 

When junior goalkeeper Logan Neil was voted the MIAA's most valuable player in 2010, he set a first for Hope athletics. His father, Matt Neil, was the MIAA's most valuable basketball player in 1982. It marked the first time a Hope father-son duo have been honored in this way by the MIAA. Younger brother Grant also achieved All-MIAA first team honors in 2012 and 2013.

Hope made its deepest run into the NCAA Division III championships in 2011 and was rewarded with the highest national ranking in the program's history. The Flying Dutchmen were ranked ninth in the final national poll of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. It was Hope's first Top 10 ranking. Hope advanced to the elite eight in the NCAA Division III tournament before bowing to eventual national champion Ohio Wesleyan 2-1. The Flying Dutchmen tied a school record for victories in a season posting a 17-5-4 record.

Hope.edu | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422