Hope College MIAA Flighted Tournament Results

The MIAA crowned a singles and doubles champion from 1888 to 1960. A flight system was introduced in 1961.

The MIAA eliminated flight play and went to a team format in 2007. In 2013, the MIAA re-instituted a flighted tournament for two seasons.


In 2008 and again in 2009, John Pelton went undefeated in first flight play posting a 15-0 record, nine in dual matches and six in the conference tournament.

In 2013 Bobby Cawood went undefeated (9-0) in first flight play (6-0), the conference tournament (2-0) and the flighted tournament (1-0). 

SINGLES (flight champions)

First Flight
Norm Hess

Second Flight
Ron Visscher

Third Flight
Jay Updegraff
1963 Arlyn Lanting
1962 Arlyn Lanting

Fourth Flight
Matt Bradley
1985 Jon Etterbeek

Fifth Flight
Andy Phillips
1984 Jeff Plomer
1962 Dave Nykerk

Sixth Flight
Andy Ruemenapp
2002 Erik Frost


First Flight
Kevney Dugan, Dan Mann
1965 Byron Hopma, Dave Nykerk
1937 Paul Boyink, Gordon Pleune

Second Flight
Jason Wagenmakler, Andy Ruemenapp
1985 Jon Etterbeek, Jeff Harlow

Third Flight
Andy Phillips, Jason Wagenmaker
1980 Jay Updegraff, John Christian

2014 Flighted Tournament Champions
Flight "A" Singles: Parker Bussies, Hope d. Eric Guindi, Albion 4-6, 6-1, 10-4

2013 Flighted Tournament Champions
Flight "A" Singles: Bobby Cawood, Hope d. Caleb Knust, Trine, 6-4, 6-0 Flight "B" Singles: Jason Muller, Hope d. Kyle Kreps, Hope, 6-3, 6-3 Flight "C" Singles: Jon Panzer, Hope d. Cody Herbruck, Hope, 6-3, 6-0 Flight "A" Doubles: Bobby Cawood/Jason Muller, Hope d. Caleb Knust/Dan Desper, Trine, 8-3

Hope.edu | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422