Men's Indoor Track and Field Claims USTFCCCA All-Great Lakes Region Awards

Korey Derr, Nick Hoffman, Josh Izenbart and Owen Ljung pose for portraits by Alan Babbitt

Four Hope College men's indoor track and field student-athletes have received United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Region honors for the 2019-20 season.

Korey Derr, Nick Hoffman, Josh Izenbart and Owen Ljung each were honored in the Great Lakes Region in individual events.

To earn All-Region honors, an athlete must be one of the top-5 individuals in their event in their respective region on the TFRRS Descending Order List. In addition, each member of a region's top-3 relay team was selected for the distinction.

Derr ran to all-region recognition in the 60-meter dash. The senior from Grand Rapids, Michigan (Northview HS) clocked a personal-best time of 6.98 seconds to finish runner-up at the MIAA Indoor Championships.

Hoffman raced to all-region honors in the mile run. The sophomore from Holland, Michigan (Holland) recorded a second-place run of 4 minutes, 23.67 seconds at the league meet.

Izenbart is all-region in the heptathlon. The senior from Glenwood, Illinois (Homewood-Flossmoor) totaled a season-high 4,429 points at the Saginaw Valley State University Invitational.

Ljung sprinted to all-region recognition in the 800 meters. The senior from Sonoma, California (Sonoma Valley) was MIAA indoor champion with a time of 1:56.83. | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422