Historic Moments and Notable Performances

Updated thru 2017-18 season

Hope College has the distinction of being the only Michigan college or university to win an NCAA national women's basketball championship twice -- 1990 and 2006. 

2006 national championship team pictured at right

Four Flying Dutch players have earned All-America First Team honors: Carrie Snikkers (2009-11), Maura McAfee (2016), Jordyn Boles (2008) and Amanda Kerkstra (2003).

Three Hope players have eclipsed the 1,400-point mark during their careers: Amanda Kerkstra (1,568 over 107 games from 1999-2003), Carrie Snikkers (1,430 over 111 games from 2007-11), and Maura McAfee (1,409 over 118 games from 2012-16).

During the 2017 NCAA Tournament, the Flying Dutch ended one the nation's longest win streaks with a 74-67 second-round win at Thomas More, Ky. Thomas More had recorded 94 consecutive home wins (when 33 vacated wins from the 2014-15 season because of an NCAA penalty are "counted").

Maura McAfee became the first Flying Dutch player to reach 1,000 career rebounds during an 83-47 win at Kalamazoo on February 16, 2016. The senior forward joined the Flying Dutchmen's Floyd Brady as the only Hope players to accomplish the feat. McAfee completed her career first with 1,047 rebounds and third with 1,409 points.

On February 7, 2018, the Flying Dutch were down 69-68 to Calvin with 1.4 seconds to go, Hope's Arika Tolbert stood at the far sideline, following a timeout, about 35 feet away from the Flying Dutch's basket. The sophomore guard lofted the ball inbounds to junior center Francesca Buchanan who had positioned herself near the low post.  The rainbow pass fell neatly into Buchanan's up-stretched hands and the junior center turned and will-powered her way to the basket, sinking a contested layup as two Calvin players defended her on each side. That game-winning bucket gave Hope a 70-69 floor-storming win over Calvin.

The Flying Dutch strung together 30 consecutive points at DeVos Fieldhouse to cruise to a 90-57 victory against Adrian on January 2, 2016. The dominant stretch started one minute into the second quarter and lasted through the first 40 seconds of the third quarter to extend Hope's lead to 49-18.

Coach Brian Morehouse was chosen the 2005-06 Division III national coach of the year by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the publication DIII News. The Detroit Free Press included coach Morehouse among the state's top sports figures in 2006 and among the candidates for the newspaper's annual "Michigan's Best" honor roll.

After guiding the Flying Dutch to a national championship in her first season, coach Sue Wise was chosen the 1989-90 Division III national coach of the year by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA).

1990 national championship team pictured at right

Hope competed in the Women's Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (WMIAA) from 1941 to 1978. The WMIAA and the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) merged into a combined governance in the 1978-79 school year. 

A Hope College Basquette Club, composed of 18 women, was organized in 1900. According to an early college publication: "The Basquette girls have the gym twice a week, at which time one half of the hour is occupied with physical exercise and dumb bell drill under the direction of Prof. Mast. The rest of the hour is given to basketball. Basketball is greatly enjoyed by the girls. They play their game beautifully, as was seen by the exhibition game played on Dec. 14 (1900) by two picked teams, before the faculty and about 50 invited guests. Everyone was surprised by the agility of the girls and pronounced basketball "all right." The rooters in the gallery almost raised the roof, but were unable to rattle the players. The score was 4-to-4..."

Hope.edu | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422