Claire Hallock and Amanda Bandrowski To Play At NCAA Tennis Championships

Amanda Bandrowski poses for a portrait Claire Hallock poses for a portrait by Alan Babbitt

The 32 best women's tennis players in NCAA Division III have been invited to the NCAA Division III Individual Championships this month, and Hope College has claimed two of the invitations.

Claire Hallock, pictured left, and Amanda Bandrowski, pictured right, both will represent the Flying Dutch in the singles portion of the May 25-26 event at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

This is both players' first trip to individual NCAA Championships. Hallock and Bandrowski give Hope 12 players all-time who have competed at individual nationals.

"We are one of schools that have more than one individual invited," head coach Bob Cawood said. "Out of 32 players, to have two of them is really awesome. I'm so incredibly proud of them."

The singles draw will be announced at a later date.

NCAA Championships Website

Hallock plays No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles for the Flying Dutch. The junior from Lakeland, Florida (Harrison Center HS) has a 25-2 singles record and a 22-8 doubles record this season. She was voted as MIAA MVP by the league's coaches.

Bandrowski lines up at No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles. The junior from Traverse City, Michigan (T.C. St. Francis) is 30-1 in singles play and 22-8 in doubles play. She was an All-MIAA First Team selection along with Hallock.

This season, Bandrowski has surpassed her school record for singles wins. She went 27-2 at No.1 singles as a sophomore.

Cawood is impressed with how both Hallock and Bandrowski handled the lineup change that was determined during preseason tryouts.

"It shows the teamwork that they have and understanding the big picture," Cawood said. "Playing 1 or 2, they can come help the team out. They're working together to make each other better. That's what makes them good teammates. It doesn't matter who's across the net. They just make to make their teammates better."

For the individual championships, the NCAA national committee selected seven singles players and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee selected the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool.

The individual championships shall consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on win-loss record, strength of schedule, and eligibility and availability of student-athletes. | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422