Historic Moments and Notable Performances

Updated thru 2019 season

Tennis is Hope's longest-running intercollegiate sport for women. The sport also has the distinction of being the first to be played in a coed format when in 1921 Hope men and women participated in a six-team tournament in Kalamazoo.

Well before the MIAA formed a unified men's and women's league in 1978, Hope was making its mark in women's tennis. The Flying Dutch won the championship of the Women's Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (WMIAA) five times between 1948 and 1955. 

The 1980 Flying Dutch went undefeated in dual meets to win Hope's first MIAA women's tennis championship.

The Sue Little Sportsmanship Award has been awarded by the WMIAA/MIAA since 1955. The first recipient was Betty Scheppers '55 of Hope. Fifty years later, Hope's Priya Malviya '05 received the honor. In 2015, Anna Garcia joined her sister Katherine (2010) as a Sue Little award recipient.

Colleen Sandro '89 qualified for the NCAA Division III national championships four consecutive years in singles and for three years in doubles. As a senior, she was chosen the MIAA's most valuable player and received the conference sportsmanship award.

Audrey Coates '97 was a three-time MIAA most valuable player, who competed four consecutive years at the NCAA Division III championships and ended her collegiate career with an impressive 87-17 record against singles opponents. She also received the MIAA sportsmanship award twice.

Anneliese Fox '06 became the first Hope tennis player (women and men) to win the MIAA first flight championship four consecutive years (2003-06). She was also a three-time MIAA most valuable player.

In his first season as head coach, Adam Ford guided the 2013 Flying Dutch to an MIAA championship and berth in the NCAA Division III Championships.

Carli Capestany '15 finished her decorated career as Hope's all-time leader with 78 doubles wins and was the Flying Dutch's single-season leader in doubles wins with a 27-5 record as a senior. Capestany helped the Flying Dutch reach the second round of the NCAA Division III Championships and claim MIAA regular-season and tournament titles. Capestany also earned Capital One Academic All-America honors from the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Senior Nancy Benda broke her former partner's doubles record by finishing with a 89-24 record between 2014-17. She also ranked fifth in singles wins at Hope with a 71-34 record.

In 2017, the Flying Dutch advanced to their first regional under the current NCAA postseason format for the first time. They were edged by Washington-St. Louis 5-3 in Whitewater, Wisc. Interim head coach Nate Price led the Flying Dutch.

Hope.edu | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422