Hope College Volleyball Historic Moments

Updated thru 2017 season

Hope volleyball players show off their white 2014 NCAA championship shirts

Hope captured its first national championship during the 2014 season after winning all six postseason matches, including a 3-2 win against Emory (Georgia) in the championship match on Nov. 24, 2014, at Christopher Newport University in Newport News, Virginia.

Jenna Grasmeyer, in 2014, became the first Hope volleyball player to earn American Volleyball Coaches Association All-American First Team honors three times during her career. She departed as the Flying Dutch's all-time leader in kills and points.

For the first time in school history, the 2009 Flying Dutch advanced to the final four of the NCAA championships. The Flying Dutch also hosted the NCAA Great Lakes Regional for the first time and finished their MIAA championship season with a school-record 34 wins.

The Flying Dutch began playing their home matches at the DeVos Fieldhouse in 2006, posting a 9-2 record. The 2007 team was undefeated at DeVos (11-0). An NCAA Division III record crowd (2,307) was treated to a classic Hope/Calvin volleyball match at DeVos Fieldhouse. In a showdown of nationally ranked volleyball teams, the visiting Knights prevailed in five games, 25-20, 23-25, 13-25, 25-18, 15-13. The match was moved from the DeVos Fieldhouse volleyball court to the main arena in order to accommodate the large turnout of fans.

The 11-season record of the Flying Dutch at DeVos Fieldhouse is 123-13. The Flying Dutch went undefeated twice: 11-0 in 2007 and 12-0 in 2010. They won a program-high 16 home games in 17 chances during the 2013 season.

Current coach Becky Schmidt had an outstanding Hope playing career and is now coaching the Flying Dutch. Voted the MIAA's most valuable player as a junior and senior, she became Hope's first Division III All-American in 1998. In 12 seasons, she has guided the Flying Dutch to one national championship, six MIAA championships and nine appearances in the NCAA tournament

Holly Vandenberg '90 is one of four Hope players to achieve All-MIAA volleyball honors for four consecutive years. An all-around athlete, she was All-MIAA twice in basketball and once in softball.

In seven seasons as head coach (1997-2003), Maureen Dunn guided the Flying Dutch to four MIAA titles and three appearances in the NCAA Division III championships. She posted a 168-79 overall record and 77-15 mark against MIAA opponents.

Four of Hope's MIAA championship teams -- 1987 (12-0), 1997 (12-0), 2005 (16-0) and 2009 (16-0) -- were undefeated.

The 2009 and 2010 Flying Dutch led all NCAA Division III in home attendance. The 2009 Flying Dutch averaged 992 fans per match while the average for the 2010 team was 802. Hope's 2009 average home attendance was the largest in Division III since statistics were first compiled by the NCAA in 1997.

Hope's DeVos Fieldhouse was the site of the 2012 and 2013 NCAA Division III volleyball championships. The Flying Dutch advanced to the Elite Eight of the 2013 championship to gain the opportunity to play on their home court.

Volleyball has been an intercollegiate sport at Hope since 1972.

Hope.edu | PO Box 9000, Holland, Michigan 49422